Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Mon 23 October, 2017 - 10:00 am
Home Help Login Register Chat Personal Messages Logout
News: The Rules - updated 23/01/2012


+  Last Post
|-+  General Category
| |-+  The Lab (Moderator: Stu)
| | |-+  waaaaaaa!!!!
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: waaaaaaa!!!!  (Read 747 times)
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1375
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59,947


« on: Thu 20 November, 2008 - 10:06 pm »

why can't i network a printer???
is because of the router?? can't see any other computers on the network either!!!
any clues?
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #1 on: Thu 20 November, 2008 - 10:14 pm »

Are all your computers on the same OS?

What OS are they on?
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #2 on: Thu 20 November, 2008 - 10:14 pm »

And I shoudl probably ask, have you got a geeky home network setup or are you just networking through the router?
Logged
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,824


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #3 on: Thu 20 November, 2008 - 10:16 pm »

I've done it many times, but it's usually more of a fluke than anything - make sure you create a windows home network, and add all of your puters to that network, then share the printer from the computer that it's plugged in to, then search for network printer, should do the trick

hopefully you have XP Pro or Linux rather than XP Home, XP Home seems to be really unreliable, we have 3 XP Home puters, an XP pro puter and a Linux puter on our network, XP Pro and Linux have no problems, but with XP Home is a jackpot to access the printer or network shares
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1375
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59,947


« Reply #4 on: Thu 20 November, 2008 - 10:32 pm »

all xp pro.

tried the network setup wizard thingy, but it doesn't achieve anything   

Logged
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,824


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #5 on: Thu 20 November, 2008 - 10:33 pm »

That's weird, it usually works, especially with XP Pro

can you ping each puter???
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1375
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59,947


« Reply #6 on: Thu 20 November, 2008 - 10:41 pm »

meh!

haven't tried. packed up the lappies , try again another day. try it every few weeks , get pissed off and leave it
 
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
All Content © 2007 The Last Post all rights reserved
Page created in 0.103 seconds with 21 queries.