Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Wed 18 October, 2017 - 08:38 pm
Home Help Login Register Chat Personal Messages Logout
News: Swear Filters


+  Last Post
|-+  General Category
| |-+  The Lab (Moderator: Stu)
| | |-+  Burning to disk
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Burning to disk  (Read 704 times)
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« on: Sun 14 December, 2008 - 08:22 pm »

I know this should be easy, right?  but damned if I can get it to work properly.

I'm trying to burn some music from my media player to disk, to play in the car.

Any disk I put in isn't recognised  and so won't burn. What am I doing wrong? I've tried CD-R's, and DVD-RW's, but they aren't even recognised as being in the machine ready to go.

    

disk player in comp is brand new 
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
Collie
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1982
Online Online

Gender: Female
Posts: 57,476


Airyfairy Inc.


« Reply #1 on: Sun 14 December, 2008 - 08:31 pm »

and probably broken 
Logged

The art of knowing is knowing what to ignore.
Suga
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 170
Offline Offline

Posts: 30,391


bravery in the midst of adversity


« Reply #2 on: Sun 14 December, 2008 - 08:35 pm »

so if you go to "my computer" and it shows all the drives and disc, it doesnt show up there either?
Logged

Something's always coming you can hear it in the ground, It swells into the air
With the rising, Rising sound
And never comes but shakes the boards and rattles all the doors

What are we waiting for?
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,824


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #3 on: Sun 14 December, 2008 - 08:45 pm »

It would do that if they're blank, you have to write something on them before they're recognised ... Do you have any software for doing that kind of stuff, like Nero for example ... If you right click on the CD drive, what options does it give you???
« Last Edit: Sun 14 December, 2008 - 08:46 pm by Stu » Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #4 on: Sun 14 December, 2008 - 09:11 pm »

Just go to "burn disk" on media player and itl start it off for you.
Logged
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #5 on: Sun 14 December, 2008 - 09:17 pm »

Just go to "burn disk" on media player and itl start it off for you.

yeah well, thats what I thought too 



and I know that sometimes even new ones need reformatting, but darned if I can find that option unless there's something already on the RW to wipe off, then the option comes up on the menu.

and probably broken 

 

so if you go to "my computer" and it shows all the drives and disc, it doesnt show up there either?

it does show up as blank disk, but when I click on properties it shows all blue, and says 0 space available, but also says 0 space used!

It would do that if they're blank, you have to write something on them before they're recognised ... Do you have any software for doing that kind of stuff, like Nero for example ... If you right click on the CD drive, what options does it give you???

so I should send a file to it, then I can wipe that and it should work as normal? seems kinda odd..
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #6 on: Sun 14 December, 2008 - 09:18 pm »

Just go to "burn disk" on media player and itl start it off for you.

yeah well, thats what I thought too 



and I know that sometimes even new ones need reformatting, but darned if I can find that option unless there's something already on the RW to wipe off, then the option comes up on the menu.

and probably broken 

 

so if you go to "my computer" and it shows all the drives and disc, it doesnt show up there either?

it does show up as blank disk, but when I click on properties it shows all blue, and says 0 space available, but also says 0 space used!

It would do that if they're blank, you have to write something on them before they're recognised ... Do you have any software for doing that kind of stuff, like Nero for example ... If you right click on the CD drive, what options does it give you???

so I should send a file to it, then I can wipe that and it should work as normal? seems kinda odd..

Ive never had to reformat a blank disk....not a CD anyway.

Try a different burning software like stu says
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
All Content © 2007 The Last Post all rights reserved
Page created in 0.166 seconds with 21 queries.