Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Sat 21 October, 2017 - 07:40 pm
Home Help Login Register Chat Personal Messages Logout
News: Swear Filters


+  Last Post
|-+  General Category
| |-+  The Lab (Moderator: Stu)
| | |-+  Can't copy and paste
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can't copy and paste  (Read 859 times)
Bored
Supreme Master
*****

Karma: 101
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,168


It's not just a river in Egypt


WWW
« on: Thu 23 April, 2009 - 10:59 am »

This is totally weird. For a couple of weeks now my PC won't let me copy and paste. Some days it will copy some things, other days nada. Have tried using control-C and V. Have tried using the short cut menu to copy using the mouse. I've checked the clipboard and it's empty

I've tried other ctrl combos (e.g. ctrl-w to close) and they work. It's a problem in firefox and word.

Any idea why???
Logged

Free stuff - go on ya know ya want it
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,824


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #1 on: Thu 23 April, 2009 - 11:10 am »

Never heard of that - may be a virus of some sort
Logged
Bored
Supreme Master
*****

Karma: 101
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,168


It's not just a river in Egypt


WWW
« Reply #2 on: Thu 23 April, 2009 - 11:27 am »

Ugh a virus. Never thought of that. Will have a run through on my virus and spyware programs but i haven't had any warnings
Logged

Free stuff - go on ya know ya want it
Bored
Supreme Master
*****

Karma: 101
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,168


It's not just a river in Egypt


WWW
« Reply #3 on: Thu 23 April, 2009 - 03:10 pm »

The avast screen didn't find anything but it had a long list of fails it can't scan as it says they are password protected
Logged

Free stuff - go on ya know ya want it
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,824


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #4 on: Thu 23 April, 2009 - 03:17 pm »

Just did a quick Google and found this:

http://www.howtofixcomputers.com/bb/ftopic140408.html

one of the posts has something that you can download which tells you what's doing it.  Word has the multi copy and paste, so it could be a failure with that that's causing it - It won't be Firefox
Logged
Bored
Supreme Master
*****

Karma: 101
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,168


It's not just a river in Egypt


WWW
« Reply #5 on: Thu 23 April, 2009 - 05:20 pm »

Thank you very much

I just ran my spyware check too. Not likely to be related but figured I'd do it while I am it. See that adaware se pro is no longer supported, so will check out other options
Logged

Free stuff - go on ya know ya want it
Bored
Supreme Master
*****

Karma: 101
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,168


It's not just a river in Egypt


WWW
« Reply #6 on: Mon 27 April, 2009 - 09:52 am »

I did a repair and fix on Microsoft Office and so far so good. I can copy and paste
Logged

Free stuff - go on ya know ya want it
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
All Content © 2007 The Last Post all rights reserved
Page created in 0.097 seconds with 21 queries.