Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Sun 25 February, 2018 - 12:37 pm
Home Help Login Register Chat Personal Messages Logout
News: Questions & Answers


+  Last Post
|-+  General Category
| |-+  The Lab (Moderator: Stu)
| | |-+  LAN - High Speed internet connection. *help please*
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: LAN - High Speed internet connection. *help please*  (Read 703 times)
Skoorb
Supreme Mistress
*****

Karma: 90
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 4,119

~~DILLIGAF??~~


« on: Sat 25 July, 2009 - 04:48 pm »

Ok Computer savvy peeps.

Tell me why,
WEdnesday when I went to check my emails & go on the net, I couldnt connect, my PC told me I had no "Network Card installed? (something like that)

SO I did a System Restore to the day prior & that fixed the problem.

Then the next day the same thing happened, However System restore didnt fix the problem this time.
I went to check out my Network Connections & all I could find was a Dial Up icon.
Now I have had & been using Broadband connection for just over a month now.
SO how could my LAN or High Speed Internet Connection icon disappear?

I couldnt fix the problem & this was on Friday night so thought I's wait till Monday & ring a technician to see if they can help me over the phone.
BUT then on Sunday when I turned on my PC it was working properly again.

Whats the deal? & why does this happen & what do I do in future if it happens again?
It appears to have just fixed itself this time.
Logged

Horsey people... check this out >>> http://heavyhorselover.createforum.net/
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #1 on: Sat 25 July, 2009 - 04:50 pm »

Faulty network card maybe
Logged
Skoorb
Supreme Mistress
*****

Karma: 90
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 4,119

~~DILLIGAF??~~


« Reply #2 on: Sat 25 July, 2009 - 04:57 pm »

 
So erm, what does that mean?
Logged

Horsey people... check this out >>> http://heavyhorselover.createforum.net/
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #3 on: Sat 25 July, 2009 - 05:23 pm »

network card is what your LAN cable plugs into, could be faulty, means you may have to get it replaced
Logged
Skoorb
Supreme Mistress
*****

Karma: 90
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 4,119

~~DILLIGAF??~~


« Reply #4 on: Sat 25 July, 2009 - 07:30 pm »

hmm ok - will wait till it poops itself again.

Then I guess I'll have to do something about it.
Logged

Horsey people... check this out >>> http://heavyhorselover.createforum.net/
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1376
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59,976


« Reply #5 on: Sat 25 July, 2009 - 08:35 pm »

reinstall the drivers for the LAN card.
go into computer properties, system properties, device manager,  find network addaptors, and delete the LAN card that is there.
restart the computer and it will find the card on startup, follow the steps and it will reinstall it.
Logged
Skoorb
Supreme Mistress
*****

Karma: 90
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 4,119

~~DILLIGAF??~~


« Reply #6 on: Sun 26 July, 2009 - 01:46 pm »

thanks - will give it a go
Logged

Horsey people... check this out >>> http://heavyhorselover.createforum.net/
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
All Content © 2007 The Last Post all rights reserved
Page created in 0.114 seconds with 21 queries.