Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Sun 25 February, 2018 - 10:45 am
Home Help Login Register Chat Personal Messages Logout
News: Adding YouTube Clips


+  Last Post
|-+  General Category
| |-+  The Lab (Moderator: Stu)
| | |-+  Secure router setup
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Secure router setup  (Read 1601 times)
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 12:03 pm »

fark me I can't get the setup to set up right don't know what I'm farking doing right or wrong


anyone know about setting up a secure wireless network connection so the friggen internet gets to the lappy?



 
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #1 on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 12:51 pm »

Yes - which part of the setup has gone wrong???
Logged
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #2 on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 01:01 pm »

the "you are now connected and can play happily on the internet via your lappy" part


It worked fine as an unsecured network, but now I've fiddled and can't even get back to that connection

I've gone to the router site and set up a secured connection, transferred data via usb as instructed when 'setting up a wireless network connection' and nothing I do on the lappy will get me a connection!


its probably something soooooooooo simple but I just can't figure it out 
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #3 on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 01:25 pm »

Is it giving an error???
Logged
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #4 on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 02:04 pm »

not really.

either it can't reach, recognise, or something else the signal, but considering it was finding it happily before I tried securing it...

would I have to put any of this brand's router software onto the lappy? I didn't install the router originally, my son did, and I didn't watch so don't know what he had to do to set it up, and I can't find any disk that may have come with it. the lappy has one network software which came with it.

*bangs head on technological wall*
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #5 on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 02:40 pm »

Can you see your router when you view wireless networks, or can't it find it at all? If you can't see it, did you disable the SSID broadcast? If so, re-enable it so that you can access it.
Logged
Red
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 1401
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 35,298



« Reply #6 on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 02:59 pm »

Can you see your router when you view wireless networks, or can't it find it at all? If you can't see it, did you disable the SSID broadcast? If so, re-enable it so that you can access it.
Wheelbarrow 
Logged
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #7 on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 09:21 pm »

I feel the same way, red.


I can see the named network connection. I've even tried doing a system restore on both computers


buggered if I know what to try next, I've tried resetting the network to unsecured but the lappy still can't/won't find the connection 
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #8 on: Mon 28 September, 2009 - 09:26 pm »

I'm confused now

...
I can see the named network connection. I've even tried doing a system restore on both computers
...

so you can see it

...
buggered if I know what to try next, I've tried resetting the network to unsecured but the lappy still can't/won't find the connection 
...

but you can't see it

Logged
The Fat Controller™
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1112
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 79,994



« Reply #9 on: Tue 29 September, 2009 - 05:28 am »

the "you are now connected and can play happily on the internet via your lappy" part


           
Logged

1121 (+2087/-966) 
BoB exist in his dog.

       
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #10 on: Tue 29 September, 2009 - 10:02 am »

 




sorry Stu, on the lappy it brings up a list of named networks to connect thru, but when I click on one it tells me there is a problem - possibly that it can't get the connection from the router.
So could the router be blocking signal, even though I now have it set to unsecured?


 
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #11 on: Wed 30 September, 2009 - 12:44 pm »

finally found a setup disk, but now my stupid friggen wireless pc card cable won't sit in the slot properly and I can't hook all the friggen cables up to finish the installation process its always been dodgy but has now decided to pack a real sad


I'm so friggen sick of technology
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
Red
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 1401
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 35,298



« Reply #12 on: Wed 30 September, 2009 - 02:09 pm »

So.... it would be inappropriate to give you s**t at this point then? 
Logged
Butterfly Angel
Supreme Mistress
*****

Karma: -427
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 8,138



« Reply #13 on: Sat 3 October, 2009 - 04:54 pm »

Has your computer somehow managed to connect to a "static" IP addy?  If so you may need to call tech support for your connection and get them to tell you how to chage it back to a normal IP for your connection
Logged
The Fat Controller™
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1112
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 79,994



« Reply #14 on: Sat 3 October, 2009 - 04:55 pm »

I thought this thread was secure rooter, as in someone handcuffed to your bed
Logged

1121 (+2087/-966) 
BoB exist in his dog.

       
Coach
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: -236
Offline Offline

Posts: 20,802


internet grinch since 1998


« Reply #15 on: Sat 3 October, 2009 - 05:20 pm »

I thought this thread was secure rooter, as in someone handcuffed to your bed

I thought it was about woodwork tools..........................
Logged

This is pitiful. A thousand people freezing their butts off waiting to worship a rat. What a hype.
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #16 on: Sat 3 October, 2009 - 08:15 pm »

 ignore the males


Has your computer somehow managed to connect to a "static" IP addy?  If so you may need to call tech support for your connection and get them to tell you how to chage it back to a normal IP for your connection

thanks star, I'll keep that in mind when I get the energy to try plugging in cables that don't want to be plugged in its like the friggen techno twilight zone around here! 
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #17 on: Mon 5 October, 2009 - 12:31 pm »

when I try and connect to the internet from the lappy, the message says that "windows did not receive any response from the wireless router"

now what do I try to fix this?
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #18 on: Mon 5 October, 2009 - 12:39 pm »

Beats me, mine either goes or it doesn't, none of this connected but no response rubbish
Logged
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #19 on: Mon 5 October, 2009 - 12:44 pm »

















                                                                                                                   
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
PaganRaven
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1062
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43,940


earth is not home to me


« Reply #20 on: Mon 7 December, 2009 - 05:34 pm »

after the isp provider talked me through resetting the router, and then no internet worked anywhere ...  .... I had a looksie and lo and behold there was an option to reset the router to factory settings 


so now once again I am wirelessly connected *touches as much wood as she can find, and kicks Murphy in the groin for good luck* 
Logged

I can hear the raven sing .... a spiritual glow envelops, medicine power develops ... as the raven sings.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
All Content © 2007 The Last Post all rights reserved
Page created in 0.113 seconds with 21 queries.