Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Fri 17 August, 2018 - 11:03 pm
Home Help Login Register Chat Personal Messages Logout
News: Questions & Answers


+  Last Post
|-+  General Category
| |-+  The Lab (Moderator: Stu)
| | |-+  Connecting LED TV to Blu-Ray and HT systemOK
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Connecting LED TV to Blu-Ray and HT systemOK  (Read 2196 times)
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 07:44 pm »

OK, we have a LED TV with HDMI...we have a blu-ray player with HDMI and also an AV receiver with HDMI.

How do we connect all three so that the sound from the regular TV and from disks played on Blue Ray, come through the speakers on the AV receiver?

We have two HDMI cables and an optical cable. Does anyone know? We have tried multiple ways of connecting and have been unable to get any sound through the speakers.
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1381
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 60,039


« Reply #1 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 07:57 pm »

blu-ray hdmi to ht hdmi input, then ht hdmi output to tv hdmi input
optical output from tv to optical input on ht

when watching blu-ray select the input on ht you get sound from movie
when blu-ray off select the input for optical for tv sound
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #2 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:05 pm »

I am pretty sure we had it like that at one stage lol

we plugged BR out to Receiver in, then Receiver out to TV in. Then we put the optical from the TV to the receiver. Admitedly we didnt f**k with any settings on the tv...do we need to do that?

Also, do we need the optical cable? Initially that is all we had coz the dik at the shop didnt tell us we could use HDMI....I thought I could just go HDMI > Receiver and Receiver > TV...is that not enough?
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #3 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:07 pm »

where do we do the settings for optical etc liek you said - in the HT or in the TV?

If I take a picture of the connections....and post it...will that be helpful?
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1381
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 60,039


« Reply #4 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:08 pm »

the hdmi is only one way, you wont get sound 'back' from the tv to the amp, that's why you need the optical to get the tv sound to the amp.
what model amp is it?
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1381
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 60,039


« Reply #5 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:09 pm »

where do we do the settings for optical etc liek you said - in the HT or in the TV?

If I take a picture of the connections....and post it...will that be helpful?



select optical input on the amp, the optical on the tv is just an output
« Last Edit: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:10 pm by The Braindead » Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #6 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:12 pm »

the hdmi is only one way, you wont get sound 'back' from the tv to the amp, that's why you need the optical to get the tv sound to the amp.
what model amp is it?

its a yamaha HTR-6230

where do we do the settings for optical etc liek you said - in the HT or in the TV?

If I take a picture of the connections....and post it...will that be helpful?



select optical input on the amp, the optical on the tv is just an output

it doesn't look like we have a optical input option lol we have: DVD, DTV/CBL, V/AUX, DVR, Multi-channel, CD, Tuner, MD/CDR, DVD

TV is digital if that is helpful
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #7 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:15 pm »

oh yay - we just got it!!

TV channel coming through the surround....

So, we have to switch when we watch a disc yea?
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #8 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:18 pm »

feel like a f**kin cabbo not having been able to do that ourselves  Brought to you by dab
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #9 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:22 pm »

so got the tv going....and can play a dvd in the blu ray through the receiver....but the sound isnt coming through the speakers....just through the regular tv speakers
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1381
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 60,039


« Reply #10 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:35 pm »

you have two HDMI inputs, whichever one you use, you need to select that with your input select buttons, that will switch the blu-ray input to the HDMI output.
the optical inputs are on the left side looking at the back marked digital inputs .. cd  & dtv/cbl  use the dtv one and then select it with the input select buttons.
\
yes need to switch to whatever input you use to get that sound through the amp.

cabbo?
« Last Edit: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:37 pm by The Braindead » Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #11 on: Sun 25 April, 2010 - 08:37 pm »

ok thanks....well go see what I can do

I will be back to haraunge if we cant sort it lol

thanks
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #12 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 12:12 pm »

I swear - if this s**t doesn start working soon some of that nice equipment is gonna get smashed.

We have got the TV through the home theatre so that is all good......

We can see the blu ray when we play it but the sound aint coming through...tell ya what, I am getting f**ked off and im trying not to smoke today lol
Logged
The Fat Controller™
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1112
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 79,994



« Reply #13 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 12:39 pm »

Girls and machines, eh?
Logged

1121 (+2087/-966) 
BoB exist in his dog.

       
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #14 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 12:44 pm »

actually i am not doing much - just sitting back and watching mr bytey not be able to do it.

Logged
The Fat Controller™
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1112
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 79,994



« Reply #15 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 12:48 pm »

Lazy cow. Make him coffee and give him a blowie!
Logged

1121 (+2087/-966) 
BoB exist in his dog.

       
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1381
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 60,039


« Reply #16 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 04:57 pm »

ok , without reading the manual in detail i can't say for sure, but you might need to get into the setup menu and select sound source switching, or you might need to get another optical cable and go from blu-ray to amp, or a RCA cable from the digital coax connections.
if the amp is switching ok between inputs then read the manual to find if there is a source select in the setup.
Logged
bytey
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 333
Offline Offline

Posts: 33,759



« Reply #17 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 08:55 pm »

sweet - cheers dude. will have a looksie.

We have just connected the PS at the mo and watch DVDs through that which gets the sound fine though have told mr bytey I want the blu ray working properly by next weekend so i can get avatar our on blu ray lol
Logged
The Fat Controller™
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1112
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 79,994



« Reply #18 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 09:00 pm »

And what about the coffee and blowie? Impatient
Logged

1121 (+2087/-966) 
BoB exist in his dog.

       
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1528
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,839


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #19 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 09:07 pm »

Just because that's how you repay people ... eek
Logged
The Fat Controller™
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1112
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 79,994



« Reply #20 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 09:08 pm »

eek you said that was between US
« Last Edit: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 09:09 pm by DanboContraZeitgeist » Logged

1121 (+2087/-966) 
BoB exist in his dog.

       
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1528
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,839


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #21 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 10:09 pm »

fag eek
Logged
The Fat Controller™
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1112
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 79,994



« Reply #22 on: Mon 26 April, 2010 - 10:10 pm »

shhhh
Logged

1121 (+2087/-966) 
BoB exist in his dog.

       
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
All Content © 2007 The Last Post all rights reserved
Page created in 0.219 seconds with 21 queries.