Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Tue 23 January, 2018 - 05:14 pm
Home Help Login Register Chat Personal Messages Logout
News: Questions & Answers


+  Last Post
|-+  General Category
| |-+  The Lab (Moderator: Stu)
| | |-+  Sky Geeks
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Sky Geeks  (Read 1303 times)
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 10:35 pm »

We have a sky decoder, and a short length of wire from the wall attached to the sat dish.  We also have another tv and a freeview unit.  I want to run freeview in the next room, which will be between 10 and 15 metres from the sky unit.  I've looked on the sky box and see it doesn't have a loop out, so want to know what I'll need - I thought some kind of t-connection and an extra length of cable from the sky box to the freeview box, but I don't know what it's called so can't find anything on Trade Me. 

So what will I need?  Are there limitations on cable lengths or number of devices I can attach?
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1376
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59,970


« Reply #1 on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 10:40 pm »

http://www.trademe.co.nz/electronics-photography/tvs/cables-aerials/auction-445483486.htm

take the cable from the sky, put it into the splitter, and then cable from the splitter to the sky and the freeview box.
10m shouldn't be a problem.
Logged
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #2 on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 10:48 pm »

I have to buy 2 new cables with that, is there something similar I can just screw into the back of the sky unit that has an in from the wall and an out to another unit?
Logged
Optimus
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 715
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15,009



« Reply #3 on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 10:59 pm »

dont worry about it for now, ill sort it out for you when i drop off the thingameejig
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1376
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59,970


« Reply #4 on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 11:00 pm »

I have to buy 2 new cables with that, is there something similar I can just screw into the back of the sky unit that has an in from the wall and an out to another unit?
no, nothing like that
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1376
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59,970


« Reply #5 on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 11:01 pm »

dont worry about it for now, ill sort it out for you when i drop off the thingameejig


i'll PM you the details on what you need
Logged
Optimus
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 715
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15,009



« Reply #6 on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 11:02 pm »

dont worry about it for now, ill sort it out for you when i drop off the thingameejig


i'll PM you the details on what you need
oh no you didnt!
Logged
Brain
Buzzard
*******

Karma: 1376
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 59,970


« Reply #7 on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 11:08 pm »

 
Logged
Optimus
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 715
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15,009



« Reply #8 on: Thu 2 February, 2012 - 11:08 pm »


cheeky f**ker
Logged
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #9 on: Fri 3 February, 2012 - 09:37 am »

I have to buy 2 new cables with that, is there something similar I can just screw into the back of the sky unit that has an in from the wall and an out to another unit?
no, nothing like that


Well somebody needs to invent one then, think of how much tidier and convenient it will be
Logged
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #10 on: Fri 3 February, 2012 - 09:38 am »

dont worry about it for now, ill sort it out for you when i drop off the thingameejig


sweet
Logged
Optimus
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 715
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15,009



« Reply #11 on: Sun 12 February, 2012 - 08:51 pm »

did it work?
Logged
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #12 on: Sun 12 February, 2012 - 09:18 pm »

No, the decoder has been sitting in the tv cabinet for a year switched off, and it won't switch on again - I've tested the cables though and they're fine, just need a new decoder now
Logged
Optimus
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 715
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15,009



« Reply #13 on: Sun 12 February, 2012 - 09:21 pm »

  
Logged
Stu
Site Admin
*****

Karma: 1527
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49,826


AssHoly Internet Bastard


« Reply #14 on: Sun 12 February, 2012 - 11:20 pm »

and I just won one of these for $22 - http://www.trademe.co.nz/electronics-photography/tvs/satellite-receivers/auction-448023552.htm

I was trying to get a PVR one, but they keep going for s**tloads
Logged
Optimus
Supreme Loser
******

Karma: 715
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15,009



« Reply #15 on: Sun 12 February, 2012 - 11:46 pm »

yeah funny that
not bad for 22 bucks though
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
All Content © 2007 The Last Post all rights reserved
Page created in 0.097 seconds with 21 queries.